Diablo 4 will be released on June 6, 2023
Diablo 4 will be released on June 6, 2023 (Image courtesy of Diablo4)

World of Sanctuary is coming back with the upcoming Diablo 4 which will be released on June 6, 2023. As revealed by the developer World Tiers will set its mark on the gameplay element to suffice the power fantasy of its player base. The idea is similar to the difficulty system of Diablo 3 that fans have enjoyed over time. 

The reason behind the introduction of the World Tier system in Diablo 4 is to enhance its RPG element. The tier progression system will offer challenging mobs, better loot, and more. This way gamers will be rooted to the title as they feel more incentivized for their commitment to the game’s progression. 

So far, Blizzard has revealed that Diablo 4 will feature five World Tiers. Follow on as this article will discuss more the difficulty slabs of the RPG title.

Exploring the World Tier system of Diablo 4

Visuals from the Diablo 4 world
Visuals from the Diablo 4 world (Image courtesy of Diablo 4)

The World Tiers in Diablo 4 will be the difficulty system of the game. At the beginning of the game players will be able to choose between Tier 1 and Tier 2 difficulty. This was a necessity to attract newbies to the franchise. It will help them get more familiar with the world and gameplay elements. 

There is a level system in the game that is capped at 100. Players who reach level 50 can complete the campaign which will unlock World Tier 3, 4, and 5. The higher world tiers will have difficult enemies, powerful bosses, and more. However, players will get more incentives and better gear to deal with the additional challenges. 

Here are each of the five World Tiers and their respective difficulty name:

  • World Tier 1 – Adventurer 
  • World Tier 2 – Veteran
  • World Tier 3 – Nightmare Difficulty
  • World Tier 4 – Hell Difficulty 
  • World Tier 5 – Torment Difficulty

An in-depth look at each of the World Tiers from Diablo 4 is discussed below.


Adventurer (Tier 1)

The mentioned tier is the beginner’s option to attract new players to get accustomed to the game. Given that it will be the starting point, the enemies will be easier to kill. Additionally, the loot and gear drop will be very basic. This tier will allow players to get used to the game mechanics and relax while they absorb the beautiful world of Diablo. 

Veteran (Tier 2)

This tier is customized for fans who have prior experience with the title. Players can expect more powerful enemies, higher loot, and more experience points. The quality of the drops in general will be higher than the 1st tier. 

Nightmare Difficulty (Tier 3)

Completion of the Cathedral of Light Dungeon in Veteran mode will get players access to World Tier 3 and the others above it. The game will enter into harder difficulties by spawning champion monsters. It will also open up Nightmare Dungeons which will drop better gears and sacred items. 

Some of the high tier item drops from Diablo 4 (Image courtesy of Diablo 4)

Hell difficulty (Tier 4)

Players have to complete the Fallen Temple Dungeon on Nightmare Difficulty to unlock World Tier 4. The world should feel more challenging with high chances of  sacred item drops. Overall the difficulty should feel more than Tier 3. Additionally character will be able to earn more experience points. 

Torment difficulty (Tier 5)

Torment difficulty is the endgame of Diablo 4 as players set foot in a world where they will have to prove themselves worthy. There will be more ancestral drops and the incentives will be significantly better than the past difficulty levels. It is safe to say that it will be more challenging than World tier 4 with the strongest of enemies that the game has to offer. 

More information will be available on the Diablo 4 difficulty system when the early access servers goes live.


Akash Paul is a Law graduate and a cosplay enthusiast. His current goal in life is to work as a writer in Spieltimes and learn through the process. He is also a passionate gamer and a full-time turtle dad.