Some franchises keep denying leaks and postponing their games in their efforts to surprise the fans. On the other hand, some franchises directly officiate the information the same day as the leaks. This is what happened with the Doom franchise. We heard some rumors about its arrival on Switch and the same evening it was confirmed by the developers.

The Doom Slayers Collection

Yesterday Bethesda surprised fans by launching the Quake Remaster on PS4, Switch and Xbox One, and PC, with a plan to launch it for PS5 and Xbox X/S soon. Along with that, it also launched the Doom Slayers Collection on Nintendo Switch at QuakeCon 2021.

The Doom Slayers collection consists of the Nintendo Switch versions of five major games of the series. These games were released over a period of 23 years i.e., 1993-2016. We will get to the availability and pricing part shortly after knowing more about the 5 games in the collection.


Doom is a 1993 first-person shooter (FPS) game developed by id Software, which is often cited as one of the greatest games ever made. It features a protagonist called Doomguy, who is a space marine fighting his way through hordes of invading demons from Hell.

Doom 2

The second game in the series is called Doom II: Hell on Earth, which was released in October 2019. It picks off exactly where Doom ended, and players resume the role of Doomguy. After returning to Earth, Doomguy finds that it has also been invaded by the demons, who have killed billions of people.

Doom 64

The sequel to Doom II is called Doom 64, which was released in April 1997. There was also a game called Final Doom released in 1996, but it isn’t considered a part of the main series. Doom 64 on the other hand, picks off where Doom II left, as a message in the beginning of the game indicates that some of the demons have been resurrected. Doomguy, being experienced in this field is tasked with exterminating them.

Doom 3

This game served as a reboot for the Doom series and was published in 2004 by Activision. Doom 3 is set on Mars in 2145, where a scientific research facility accidentally opens the gateway to Hell while experimenting with teleportation. Now, an anonymous Space Marine corporal has to battle the demons to save Mars, as well as Earth.

Doom 2016

Doom 2016 is another reboot in the franchise which was published by Bethesda Softworks. This time demonic forces from Hell have been unleashed by the Union Aerospace Corporation within their energy-mining facility on Mars. It is set in the year 2049 and can be considered a sequel to Doom 3. But its gameplay was more like the original 2 games.

Now let’s talk about the Doom Slayer’s Collection’s pricing for a moment. The collection is out on Switch’s eShop right now for $49.99. If you buy the games separately, it will cost you around $65. So, buying the bundle makes much more sense for the fans who want to own all the major games of the series as you save 15 dollars, which is a lot!

If you have any other questions regarding Doom, feel free to ask in the comments below. For more content related to Doom, stay with us, here at Spiel Times.

Make sure you subscribe to our push-notifications and never miss an update from the world of video games. Until next time, Stay Safe and Happy Gaming!