FIFA: World Cup Trophy List – Argentina, Brazil, France, and more!

FIFA: World Cup trophy list

The FIFA World Cup 2022 reached its conclusion on Sunday when Argentina won 4-2 (3-3 after extra time) on penalties against France. During the ceremony, all the deserving players were awarded The Golden Boot, Golden Ball, and Golden Glove awards. This marks the third time Argentina has won after 1978 and 1986. It breaks the dry spell of going 36 years without a World Cup win. Let’s take a look at all the winners of this year and the memorable moments of previous years!

FIFA 2022 winners
Image courtesy of Olympics

FIFA ’22 Awards List

FIFA 2022 in Qatar ended in the perfect conclusion with Argentina winning against France on penalties. Argentina was in the lead at 2-0 right until the 80 minutes when Kylian Mbappe‘s brace made people question the hopes of winning the tournament. However, the match proceeded to extra time where Lionel Messi scored his second goal for the night and Mbappe went on with a hat-trick to create 3-3. Proceeding in the penalty shoot-outs, Argentina wins against France 4-3.

  • The Top 4: Argentina (winner), France, Croatia, and Morocco
  • The Golden Boot Award: Kylian Mbappe
  • The Golden Ball Award: Lionel Messi
  • The Golden Glove Award: Emiliano Martinez
  • The Silver Boot Award: Lionel Messi
  • The Silver Ball Award: Kylian Mbappe
  • The Bronze Boot Award: Oliver Giroud
  • The Bronze Ball Award: Luka Modric
  • FIFA Young Player Award: Enzo Fernandez
  • FIFA Fair Play Award: England

The game created many important moments when Argentina became the tournament winner for the third time after 1978 and 1986. During the World Cup, Lionel Messi made history as the first-ever footballer to score in all five different stages of the tournament. Until now, there have been 8 different teams who have won the FIFA World Cup since it began in 1930. Let us take a look at all the past winners.

READ MORE: FIFA 2022: Best Goals – Ranked

Previous Winners

Y E A R W I N N E R O P P O N E N T  S C O R E S
1930 Uruguay Argentina 4 – 2
1934 Italy Czechoslovakia 2 – 1
1938 Italy Hungary 4 – 2
1950 Uruguay Brazil 2 – 1
1953 Germany Hungary 3 – 2
1958 Brazil Sweden 5 – 2
1962 Brazil Czechoslovakia 3 – 1
1966 England West Germany 4 – 2
1970 Brazil Italy 4 – 1
1974 Germany Netherlands 2 – 1
1978 Argentina Netherlands 3 – 1
1982 Italy West Germany 3 – 1
1986 Argentina West Germany 3 – 2
1990 Germany Argentina 1 – 0
1994 Brazil Italy 0 – 0
1998 France Brazil 3 – 0
2002 Brazil Germany 2 – 0
2006 Italy France 5 – 3
2010 Spain Netherlands 1 – 0
2014 Germany Argentina 1 – 0
2018 France Croatia 4 – 2
2022 Argentina France 4 – 3
ALSO READ: What’s Next for Christiano Ronaldo after shocking World Cup exit?


Moments in FIFA

  • The FIFA World Cup started in 1930 with only 13 teams, out of which merely 4 were from Europe.
  • During the 1934 final between Italy and Czechoslovakia, it was the first time a FIFA match reached 16 rounds. Unfortunately, last year’s winner Uruguay couldn’t join FIFA due to many countries boycotting the sporting event.
  • In 1938, Indonesia (then known as Dutch East Indies) joined as the first Asian team.
  • Post World War 2, FIFA 1950 marked the tragedy of the Maracanazo game.
  • Famous footballer Pele debuted in 1958, Brazil VS Sweden.
  • North Korea and Portugal debuted during FIFA 1966.
  • Pele played his last world cup in FIFA 1970 and the tournament ended without any player being sent off.
  • The new trophy was introduced in FIFA 1974.
  • Tunisia’s 3-1 win over Mexico was the first time an African team won a World Cup match.
  • During FIFA 1982 the first penalty shoot-out was used.
  • FIFA 1986 featured the remarkable Hand of God Goal by Maradona.
  • FIFA 1994 with 0 – 0 on both sides featured the first penalty kick contest.
  • FIFA 2002 was the first time co-hosted by two nations.
  • Zinedine Zidane head-butts Marco Materazzi and received a red card in FIFA 2006.
  • V.A.R. (Video Assistant Referee) was used for the first time in 2018.

The next FIFA world cup will be hosted by three countries, the US, Canada, and Mexico in 2026. 48 teams are preparing to participate and at least 80 games shall be played. 60 of them are in the US while the other 20 will be divided between Canada and Mexico.

For more insights into entertainment, gaming, and sports, follow Spiel Times.

SOURCES: FIFA, HindustanTimes, CNN 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *