IPL Winner List From 2008 to 2021; All Seasons
Image courtesy of Times Of Sports

The Indian Premier League started in 2008 and today it has become the world’s biggest tournament. The final winning franchise gets prize money of 20 crores and a trophy. Here is the complete list of IPL final winners from 2008 to 2021:

Year IPL Winners
2008 Rajasthan Royals
2009 Deccan Chargers
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Mumbai Indians
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians
2018 Chennai Super Kings
2019 Mumbai Indians
2020 Mumbai Indians
2021 Chennai Super Kings


Now have a look at short highlights of the year-wise IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021.

IPL Winner List From 2008 to 2021 – Highlights

IPL 2021 Winner: Chennai Super Kings

The final of IPL 2021 was played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on 15th October 2021. It was hosted in Dubai due to Covid-19. CSK (192/3) beat KKR (165/9) by 27 runs.

OTHER NEWS: IPL Ticket Bookings: Where To Buy; Check All Details Here

IPL 2020 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians were the winner of IPL 2020. The final was played between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Delhi Capitals (DC). MI (157/5) beat DC (156/7) by 5 wickets with 8 balls left. This is the consecutive second time for MI.

IPL Winner 2019: Mumbai Indians

The finals of IPL 2019 were between two giants. The rivals, Mumbai Indians, and Chennai Super Kings met again in the finals. This encounter between the giants made the crowd mad. MI won the nail-biting match by just 1 run. CSK needed only 1 run on the last ball but Lasith Malinga displayed his experience once again and led MI to win the IPL title for the 5th time.

IPL Winner 2018: Chennai Super Kings

The final of IPL 2018 was between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).  CSK (181/2) beat SRH (178/6) by 8 wickets. Shane Watson displayed his masterclass batting performance in the final match. He scored 117 runs and remained unbeaten.

IPL Winner 2017: Mumbai Indians

In 2017 two new teams were introduced, Gujrat Titans (GT) and Rising Pune Super Giants (RPS). The newly introduced RPS was led by MS Dhoni. So again, the final was between Rohit Sharma (MI) and MS Dhoni (RPS). It was an interesting match; MI stole the match from PSG. MI won the match just by 1 run.

IPL Winner 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad

The year 2016 was an awesome year for Virat Kohli. He scored 973 runs in IPL 2016, which is the highest ever run made by any batsmen in a single IPL season. The final was played between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Unfortunately, RCB couldn’t make it and SRH won their first IPL title.

IPL Winner 2015: Mumbai Indians

The final of IPL 2015 was again between MI and CSK. MI gave a huge target of 202/5. But CSK (161/8) kept on losing wickets in quick intervals. MI won the final by 141 runs; they became the third team after CSK and KKR to win the title more than once.

IPL Winner 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders

The year 2014 was for the KKR fans. They become the second team to win the IPL trophy more than once. In this Robin Uthappa was in great form. He scored 660 runs and won the orange cap. The final was between KKR and Punjab Kings (PBKS). Manish Pandey played a crucial inning of 94 runs in just 50 balls which led KKR to chase the huge target of 199.

IPL Winner 2013: Mumbai Indians

The final of IPL 2013 was between MI and CSK. MI started the innings on a bad note. Kieron Pollard was the only savior for MI (148/9). Everyone was expecting that CSK will win the match easily but the MI bowlers didn’t give up. MS Dhoni tried his best but MI bowlers proved that their team is the most balanced in IPL. MI won the final by 23 runs.

OTHER NEWS: Sam Billings: IPL 2022 “Biggest Domestic Tournament In The World”

IPL Winner 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders

In 2012 KKR won their first IPL title. The final was between KKR and CSK. KKR’s Bisla took the responsibility of chasing the huge target of 190. He scored 89 runs from 48 balls and sealed the match for KKR by 5 wickets.

IPL Winner 2011: Chennai Super Kings

In 2011 CSK became the first team in IPL to win back-to-back IPL trophy. The final was between CSK and RCB. The fabulous partnership of 159 runs between Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay almost sealed the match for CSK. The bowlers did half the work and CSK won the final by 58 runs.

IPL Winner 2010: Chennai Super Kings

This was the first time when CSK won its IPL title. This was the first encounter between CSK and MI in the finals. CSK (168/5) beat MI (146/9) by 22 runs.

IPL Winner 2009: Deccan Chargers

The IPL 2009 title was won by Decan Chargers (DC) led by Adam Gilchrist. The final was between DC and RCB. DC gave a target of 143 runs but the RCB’s batsmen couldn’t chase it and DC won the 2nd edition of the IPL by 6 runs.

IPL Winner 2008: Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royal (RR) was the first team to win the first-ever IPL title. The team was led by Shane Warne. The final was between RR and CSK. The big hitter of RR, Yusuf Pathan, played a fabulous inning of 56 runs in 39 balls to seal the game for RR. The winners took home the trophy by 3 wickets.

For more IPL content, stay with us here at Spiel Times. Make sure you subscribe to our push notifications and never miss an update from the world of video games, entertainment, cricket, and more. Until next time, Stay Safe, Wear A Mask, and Happy Gaming!