The 15th IPL season seems to be more interesting and thrilling than ever. The first couple of matches were just mind-blowing and fans enjoyed them a lot. The 5th match between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) was also a money-worth match. RR batsmen were just awesome, the hard-hitting by Sanju and Josh Buttler made the fans crazy. Moreover, the small cameo by Hatmyer helped RR reach a huge score of 210. While chasing the target, however, a controversial incident took place. The controversial catch-out of Kane Williamson set Twitter on fire.
— Mr A 🇮🇳 (@amMrfeed) March 29, 2022
SRH captain Kane Williamson opened with the young gun Abhishek Sharma to chase the huge target. It was just the second over of the innings when Prasidha Krishna departed the opponent’s captain to the pavilion for 2 runs off 7 balls.
The Indian pacer bowler length ball beat Williamson from all corners and took the outside edge of the bat that directly went towards the right-hand side of wicket-keeper Sanju Samson. The keeper dived to grab a one-handed catch but the ball popped out of his hand and Padikkal, who was at the first slip, showed his fast movement and made a full stretch and dived forward to grab the catch. The field umpire wasn’t sure about the catch so he referred to the third umpire. The third umpire checked the catch from all angles and declared the controversial catch as out. However, it was seen on the television screen that the ball dropped first and then Padikkal took the catch. This set fans on Twitter furious.
The decision by the third umpire left many irked on social media as fans lashed out at the third umpire terming the decision a ‘horrible’ one. Here are some of the reactions –
— Cricket Countdown (@Cric8Countdown) March 29, 2022
— Dr Nareshh Saharan ⚕️ (@im_saharank) March 29, 2022
— Naveen (@Naveen52679975) March 29, 2022
SRH lost their wickets in quick intervals. So, in the end, RR won the match by 61 runs.