image courtesy of Twelfth Man Times

Covid-19 has ruined everyone’s life. It doesn’t spare the physical also. The domestic tournament of India, Ranji Trophy has not taken place in the last two years. Finally, the wait is over, The Board of Control for Cricket in India has come up with an important update for the domestic players. India’s cricket body has now announced the dates of the forthcoming season of the Ranji Trophy. The resumption of domestic cricket is indeed good news for the domestic players.


The first phase of the competition will be between February 10 and March 15. On the other hand, the second phase will kick off after the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League.

The second phase will kick-off between 30th May and 26th June. In general, there will be a sum of 64 games across 62 days.

“The coming months are going to be replete with cricketing action. We have waited patiently for the grip of the pandemic to loosen and the time has come for our cricketers to take center-stage all over again,” BCCI Secretary Jay Shah stated in a letter
Image courtesy of Prabhat Khabar
OTHER NEWS: Virat Kohli: Fastest Player To Reach 5000 Runs In Home ODIs


A total of 38 teams will take part in this tournament that is spread across 9 groups. There are 32 Elite Group teams that have been clubbed into 8 groups of four, while all 6 Plate Group teams have been placed in a solitary group.

Elite Group A:

Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, and Meghalaya (Matches to be held in Rajkot)

Elite Group B:

Bengal, Baroda, Hyderabad, Chandigarh (Matches to be held in Cuttack)

Elite Group C:

Karnataka, Railways, Jammu and Kashmir, Pondicherry (Matches to be held in Chennai)

Elite Group D:

Saurashtra, Mumbai, Odisha, Goa (Matches to be held in Ahmedabad)

Elite Group E:

Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Services, and Uttarakhand

Elite Group F:

Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, and Tripura)

Elite Group G:

Vidharbha, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Assam)

Elite Group H:

Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, and Chattisgarh

(Games of Elite Group E, F, G, and H will kick off in Trivandrum, Delhi, Haryana, and Guwahati)

Plate Group:

Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh.

OTHER NEWS: India becomes The 1st Team To play 1000 ODIs

Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below. For more content, stay with us, here at Spiel Times.    

Make sure you also subscribe to our push-notifications and never miss an update from the world of video games. Follow us on Twitter @spieltimes for the latest PS5 restock and drop. Until next time, Stay Safe and Happy Gaming!