Imagine a rampant world of supernatural oddities that engage a diverse lineup of super interesting characters. For example, a half-morphed vampire who falls in love with a purple-haired beauty cursed by the Crab God. A student council president who is the anime world’s equivalent of Black Cat (just that she’s a white cat. Her hair turns white.) A snail-like spirit who is stuck in a phase of time unable to get out.

A girl who becomes a Gorilla. A loli vampire that once had the greatest knockers (*nosebleeds* ahem) I mean, the greatest of powers before giving them up to the protagonist. What isn’t there in the Monogatari series? I’ll tell you what: understanding of how to watch the darn show, a Monogatari Series Watch Guide.

Monogatari Series Is Not For The Faint of Heart

Monogatari sereis watch order

Monogatari series is by no feat anything of small stature. For a show of this nature of rumbled storytelling, vague texts that float in the frames every 5 minutes, philosophical monologues that are not easy for a ninth grader, etc, you would expect this show to not run. Like you would expect this story to fall apart. You’d bang your table and shout “How can this anime even be good!”.

But believe me. It’s darn good. It’s better than the knockers (ahem). And despite its complex storytelling, the Monogatari series has garnished all its glory. The fan base is crazy. And so am I (for the knockers *nosebleeds* okay I’ll stop).

More on Monogatari Series

  • Monogatari Series is based on a light novel of the same name. Written by Nisio Isin, the franchise tells telling stories of multiple characters. The primary of which revolves around Koyomi Araragi who goes on to meet multiple supernatural occurrences happening in his neighborhood.
  • Shaft adapted the complex light novel into a series of anime, having finished last with its Monogatari: Final Season. Although the light novel has continued, whether a new anime adaptation of the same would come out or not depends upon the SHAFT.
  • Shaft adapted the light novels into a few wonderful anime series. Beginning with Bakemonogatari, we have Monogatari Second Season, ending with Monogatari final season. And all in between we have a trilogy film, in-between mini-series, and whatnot.

Unlike most anime, Monogatari series is not divided into cour of 13 or 24 episodes. Instead what happens is that each season contains different storylines based upon different story arcs from the light novel. Hence, one season may comprise multiple mini-series.

Knockers *nosebleeds*

How To Watch The Monogatari Series: A Watch Guide

Coming to the age-old question, how to watch the darn series? Without spoiling you, we will just directly give you a list. Then we will go to explain it. If you are in a spree of watching the series and only stumbled here to find out quickly where to go next, like a google maps thingy, we got you covered. If you have the heart, read on. There are two ways that we can think of, in which you can engage in the world of Monogatari anime with this Monogatari series watch guide.

1/3 The Official Release Order

1. Bakemonogatari 2009
2. Nisemonogatari 2012
4. Nekomonogatari Kuro 2012
5. Monogatari Series Second Season 2013
6. Hanamonogatari 2014
7. Tsukimonogatari 2014
8. Owarimonogatari
9. Koyomimonogatari
10. Owarimnonogatari (Part 2)
11. Zoku Owarimonogatari


The first is the original release order by SHAFT. Keep in mind that SHAFT released the series in this order with a plan in mind. They know their deal, they are business professionals. What do we writers know anyway? (other than anime vampire knockers noseble)

Monogatari Series Watch Order
Artwork by 白夜ReKi

Besides I myself watched the series in this order since it was released. For most, starting the show from the release order of the anime is probably the best. It follows with Bakemonogatari which is de facto the best Monogatari series out of all (I may be biased because that’s where I began from.) The series will introduce you to Koyomi and Hitagi Senjougahara, the absolute Tsun Tsun silent waifu who you will submit your soul to.

2/3 The Chronological Order

Nekomonogatari: Kuro
Monogatari Series – Mayoi Jiangshi
Monogatari Series – Shinobu Time
Owarimonogatari (First Season) – Shinobu Mail
Monogatari Series – Tsubasa Tiger
Owarimonogatari (First Season) – Ougi Formula, Sodachi Riddle, Sodachi Lost
Monogatari Series – Nadeko Medusa and Hitagi End
Owarimonogatari (Second Season)
Zoku Owarimonogatari


Monogatari Series Watch Order
Koyomi Araragi and Hitagi Senjougahara

For those who have seen the series, and want to just drop back to it, this list is for you. The thing about newcomers going straight into chronological order is that things may not make sense to you. Kizumonogatari, for all senses and purposes, is not meant for newcomers. Instead, it may make you groggy. But still, if you have begun the series in the order of release but now instead wish to continue in chronology, be our guest.

3/3 The Author’s Original Work Order

First Season

  1. Bakemonogatari (2006)
  2. Kizumonogatari (2008)
  3. Nisemonogatari (2008 – 2009)
  4. Nekomonogatari (Black) (2010)

Second Season

  1. Nekomonogatari (White) (2010)
  2. Kabukimonogatari (2010)
  3. Hanamonogatari (2011)
  4. Otorimonogatari (2011)
  5. Onimonogatari (2011)
  6. Koimonogatari (2011)

Final Season

  1. Tsukimonogatari (2012)
  2. Koyomimonogatari (2013)
  3. Owarimonogatari (2013 – 2014)
  4. Zoku Owarimonogatari (2014)

Off Season

  1. Orokamonogatari (2015)
  2. Wazamonogatari (2016)
  3. Nademonogatari (2016)
  4. Musubimonogatari (2017)

Monster Season

  1. Shinobumonogatari (2017)
  2. Yoimonogatari (2018)
  3. Amarimonogatari (2019)
  4. Ougimonogatari (2020)
  5. Shinomonogatari (2021)

The above is not the order of anime, but actually, the order of the work released and sorted by author Nisino Isin. Many of the works recommended here are light novels that do not have an anime adaptation. This list is purely for those who want to keep track of the chronology of the story as per the author’s guidance.

Monogatari Series Watch Order
Hanekawa Tsubasa


Monogatari literally translates to “Story” in English. Each of the series’ work refers to a certain story. Nisemonogatari means impostor story, and Bakemonogatari means monster story. Yet through all these weaving stories of multiple characters, what connects the audience is not merely the world-building, but also the enigma presented before each character. The rumbling voices and narration, the philosophical juxtapositions, and the supernatural oddity, all add up to the charisma of the show.

Also read : The Irregular at Magic Highschool: Southern Sea Arc’s final chapter out

If you have been looking for an anime, this is the one. Don’t fret, simply go for it. By the end of this, I would still say if you are a newcomer, do not follow the chronology impulse. Just give in to the expanse of the release order, and you’ll be just fine. Tell us which your favorite Monogatari story is as you make sure to share, and subscribe to our push notifications You can also follow us on Twitter @spieltimes for the latest PS5 restock and drop. Stay Safe and Happy Gaming!

SOURCEfandom wiki
Rhytham is a Philosophy graduate who founded a state-level organization that promotes anime and Japanese culture in his home state of Assam India. The org is named Assam Senpai Society. He is also an ardent writer, poet, musician, vocalist, graphic designer, and photoshop artist. He has worked on multiple state and national level conventions. Other than anime, catch him watching western series that really have in themselves the solidity to catch his attention.